January 12, 2015 STAFF/STU

$10,000 Porter Scholarship Application for JCU Juniors Contributing to the Humanities

The Roderick Boyd Porter Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to a John Carroll University undergraduate student graduating in December 2015 or Spring/Summer 2016 for their contribution to the Humanities. If you qualify for this award of approximately $10,000 for your senior year of college, we urge you to apply.

Rod Porter was a singular individual, well-schooled and well-read, liberally educated in the Jesuit tradition, a student of the Classics and of classical languages, a superior writer, and a talented editor. Born in Columbus, Ohio in 1947, he graduated from John Carroll University in 1969 with a B.A. and honors in classics. He died of cancer in 1993. The Friends of Rod Porter ’69 established this annual scholarship in his honor.

To be eligible for the Porter Scholarship, students must be a current junior student who has attended John Carroll University full-time for at least three consecutive semesters and who expects to graduate in December 2015 or May or August 2016. Students must have a 3.5 GPA or better, a major or strong background in a Humanities field, and exemplary participation in campus and student organizations. The award amount is approximately $10,000 for the 2015-2016 academic year.

If you qualify and wish to apply, send an email to Philip Metres (pmetres@jcu.edu) for the application. All completed applications should be received by Philip Metres (pmetres@jcu.edu), chair of the committee, no later than 5:00 p.m., February 1, 2015. The committee will interview three to five finalists. The Committee will recommend candidates to the Academic Vice President for approval.

Please feel free to contact members of the committee if you have any questions.

Philip Metres
Chair of the Porter Committee

Porter Committee:
Dr. Philip Metres (English), Dr. Paul Nietupski (Theology and Religious Studies), Dr. Malia McAndrew (History), Dr. Gwen Compton-Engle (Classics), Dr. Julia Karolle-Berg (Director of the Honors Program, Classical and Modern Languages)